Artist: Ron Philbeck

https://i2.wp.com/ronphilbeckpottery.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/bowls.jpghttps://i1.wp.com/ronphilbeckpottery.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/lisa_pens.jpg

Hang the Wash Out to Dry...Hang the Wash Out to Dry...https://i1.wp.com/ronphilbeckpottery.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/plate.jpg

I have stumbled across Ron Philbeck and I am so so glad I have! Here is a bit about him:

He makes charming slipped earthenware pots that tickle my senses and notions (as seen above). A salt firer gone earthenware is far and few in between. His blog is full of tidbits to tantalize any potter or lover of pots. He has all his bases covered in the digital world- blog, online gallery, some drawings, etsy, even you tube videos (see below)! Check out his website indeed.  How did I stumble upon his charming blog and work? By searching for another great potter’s work, Michael Simon. This was the post that Google hit:

I too make a celebration of Sunday morning coffee. It is tradition in the making of early Sunday morning contemplation and conversation. It is nice to know that others do so too and continue to contemplate pots at the same time. Michael Simon was going to be the artist for the week but as the world and times are a change’n- Ron gets the spotlight. Enjoy!

P.S Folks remeber that links are indicated in grey text and that you can always go to older post by clicking the prompt at the bottom of the page or by searching in the sidebar or having fun by clicking tag over there too!

4 thoughts on “Artist: Ron Philbeck

  1. Bethany says:

    I’ve been reading Ron’s blog for a while now (and yours!), via my Google Feed, but was going to do a little digging to find out how he got into earthenware. You did it for me. Thank you! 8^) Have you checked out Hannah McAndrew, Doug Fitch and Matt Grimmit? They do gorgeous slipware.

  2. ron philbeck says:

    Hi Bridget, Thanks so much for the feature and for your kind words! It’s good to know that the Michael Simon post is out there bringing folks together. 🙂 I really enjoyed finding your blog after the comment you left on the Borjeson’s pot. I looked in Phil Rogers book on Salt glaze and he has a photo there and he mentions it being sgraffito. I guess I may work up the courage to send them an email and ask. I’m jealous that you’ve been to Janet’s. I’ve only been virtually and through books and magazines. Maybe I’ll get to visit in person someday. All the best, Ron

  3. Allen says:

    I have enjoyed Ron’s work for years. His artistic presence is a constant in my home, which is made more sacred through the use of his lovingly hand-made pots. The only thing more down to earth, beautiful and real is Ron himself, who is a master in the art of life. There is a simple but powerful magic in his work. And, through the regular use of his pots, I have come to appreciate more fully the elegant nature of life itself.

Leave a Reply

