Review: The 16th Annual Country Christmas Craft Faire

Well, it is all done now. I am happy to report that it was a success. I am ready and rare’n to go for next year! I enjoy the body of work I created but am even  more excited about where it is going. A few things came from the experience…

– I got some commission work and am glad to say that the face plates I’ve done in the past totally have potential and I am pretty excited about the possibilities there.

– I discovered a new market for my work that I didn’t expect: Hunters.

So you know how women drag their husbands to crafty things come this time of year? And just like good men they go a long and quietly twiddle their thumbs while gandering at the things they would seldom indulge on but their wives swoon over? Well, I’d look up from my wanderings around the floor and all the burly quietly sauntering men would be fumbling about with my mugs laden in wild Canadian fauna! It is of course the women that bought them in the end. But, I had some good conversations with the husbands. It does make scene after all, I am attracted to the imagery I am because of my relationship with the forest and they are drawn to it for the same reason!

I also got to trade so things with fellow artists (see scan of textures above). It is so satisfying to trade something handmade for something handmade. I like the direct application and recognition of skills. I may not have money but I do have skills and hey so do most people so let’s make it happen! I had such high hopes for the barter fair this year held in the Kootenays every fall and I didn’t make it this year. I’ll be there next year, you can bet on it.

The Review: This section will be me reviewing a publication, exhibition, article.

Leave a Reply

