Exhibition: We They, They we, What about Craft?

This is a topic that always comes up in my conversations. NSCAD, where I went to university was a place where the supposed great divide between craftspeople and “Artists” was palpable. In my last critique of the year I was actually asked by the head of the department if functional pottery should even be in Art School curriculums. I was almost rendered speechless. Thank goodness, although I feel the topic has been talked to death I was able to stammer an “of course”. But I ask you this: Are skills and appropriate pottery based concerns being fully addressed in Art universities? I think the answer is no. Every single person in my department that year was dissatisfied with their education. Something crucial is lacking. So why isn’t the institution heeding to the wearies of its populus?

Leave a Reply

