The Tao of Pooh

One of  my summer reads is The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff. He explains Taoism through stories of Winnie the Pooh originally by A. A. Milne. It has interesting bits like the above. Many things, craft included, I believe should hold a strong place in academia but transcend the boundaries of the academic world and infiltrate our normal lives- Thank you Winnie The Pooh!

One thought on “The Tao of Pooh

  1. goodthingsltd says:

    I loved that book – there is one also called the Te of piglet, about the virtues of being small, in the broadest sense. I read them when I was a student of religion at the school of oriental and african studies, and they helped me understand Taoism to a greater extent than I did through academic reading.

    I now believe that the enduring children’s stories hold lessons about us as humans living in societies – there’s not much about living that childrens stores can’t teach you.

    Thanks for the reminder about a good little book.

Leave a Reply

