Playlist: Kim Churchill

I was at the Old Bus Depo Market on Sunday here in Canberra and bought some wonderful pizza crust then made a great pizza later that night…

More importantly I bought a new CD from a busker on a whim… A very informed whim, this guy is brilliant! If my I Pod had not been stolen and my I-touch lost I would be able to listen to him via headphones. He makes great studio music!  Sword and Shield, his latest album is full of creative and surf feel blues tacks. The first track on the disc, Running On, sets the feel for the whole album complete with upbeat whistling and cryptic one liners. “Sometimes life pushes you down until you’re on all fours”. Right you are Kim, right you are.

Music in the studio is so important. I was just visiting the Australian potter Greg Daily’s studio and he said “The most important thing in a studio is a good sound system”! A man after my own heart. Many studios have regulations when it comes to who plays what where. I wish all studios were understanding enough to play music through speakers and not just head phones, but there is a place and time and all with in the studio need to be understanding. I think the majority would like Kim.

http://www.kimchurchill.com/

P.S. Ipod recovered! I left it in a friend’s car the way to EPIC markets two Saturdays past! It is especially special since it was a gift from my mother and in the back she had engraved…

Playlist: I love music and it consequently is in my potting life. It enhances the studio all the time and therefore my process. It is a bit of my life I would like to share. So I will post up an MP3 from the week, links concerning the band, and a personal review of the album. Likewise with the other review categories.

Leave a Reply

